top of page

Our Story

We are the power
In 2003, four out of the eight clubs that played in a Brisbane League Division Three, were from AFL Bundaberg Wide Bay. They were Hervey Bay Bombers, Maryborough Bears, Across The Waves Bundaberg, and Brothers Bulldogs from Bundaberg. Gympie Cats and Pomona Demons had also previously played in the Wide Bay League. It was a competition which lasted only one season before the above mentioned six clubs, with the addition of new club, Bay Power, resulted in a revamped seven club League reforming the AFL Bundaberg Wide Bay competition the following year (2004). In 2019 after 15 seasons of football Bay Power AFC became Premiers, a culmination of the tireless work of the amazing volunteers, committee members, players and their families over the years.
Bay long_edited_edited_edited_edited.webp

Our Women

On the road to victory
In 2018 the Wide Bay Senior Women's competition was introduced. This presented not only our young women who had played through the ranks of Junior football but women of all ages to move off the sideline, play the game that they love and continue to develop their skills. Over the last 5 years our Bay Power women's team has grown from strength to strength exhibiting their never say die attitude along with the traditional Bay Power style of footy - hard and fast! 2021 saw Bay Power's Abigail Grimsley awarded the inaugural 'Mason Medal', Wide Bay AFL's Women's Best and Fairest and in 2022 Bay Power knocked out the Bombers to secure their place in the Grand Final!
If you have a passion for football and would like to get involved, we would love to meet you.
1st womens team_edited.webp
Bay Power AFC Women's Team 2013
Mason Medal winner Abigail Grimsley
Bay Power Senior Women's Team 2022

Life Members


Trevor Schlein

Kym Crowder

John McCormack


Alan Embrey

David Crowder


Glenn Krohn

Jenny Bruce


Michael Sunderland


Karen Stillman


Robert McCormack

Jadon Fredericks

bottom of page